Too right.  In fact, I wish I had started 14 years ago.  Why 14 years?  Well, I remember an episode of Oprah that must’ve been broadcast in mid-1998. It was about the millenium and what people wanted to accomplish before the year 2000.  I recall sitting on the couch thinking how great it would be to start 2000 fit and healthy.  I probably weighed about 230 pounds then…maybe more.

And now, 14 years on from that episode of Oprah, I wish I’d started that day, but I didn’t.  And now I weigh 289.5 pounds.  That’s the bad news.  The good news is that I used to weigh 329 pounds.  I keep trying to remind myself that I should be proud of that loss, but it’s very difficult to feel great about losing 39.5 pounds when you have 139.5 pounds to lose.

Still, that’s all a bit negative, isn’t it?  And the whole point of this here blog is to be positive!  I’ve resolved that 2012 (a.k.a., the next 366 days) will be the year I turn my life around.  And it’s important to note that this isn’t only about losing weight.  That’s a huge part of it, to be sure, but I have other things I want to work on.

In short, I want to greet 3 January 2013 as a healthier person.  I would like to weigh less, but more importantly, I would like to FEEL BETTER.  As it is, I hurt constantly.  My back aches all the time.  I have weird tingly pains in my thighs.  My heart races a lot and beats far too quickly after I walk only a short distance.  My most recent blood pressure reading was high — maybe 126/110, I believe.

And that’s just the physical stuff.  There’s also anxiety and my poor stress management skills.  I’m impulsive, stubborn, and critical.  I’m not confident and am afraid to take risks.  I don’t sleep well and I’m certain I’m not the best wife I could be.

So, over the next 366 days I’m going to work on myself.  I’m going to eat healthy foods.  I’m going to exercise.  I’m going to clean my house.  I’m going to be good to my husband.  I’m going to try to do a little bit of good in this world.

I’m going to start living the life I want to live.

One year from now, I’ll be glad I started today.  🙂

